4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 19, 2014 1:51 PM by philmodjunk

Calculations screen

JohanBoerema_1

Title

Calculations screen

Hi all,

I'm new to filemaker. I've read most documentation, but I don't know how to solve this. 

I'm building a Filemaker application for a production company. One of the screens in the application is a screen from which they can calculate pricing for a particular client. They have to fill all kind of variables and then the price is calculated.
      To get this I'm creating a form lay-out. But how can I drop database fields on this screen without Filemaker immediately updating them in the database?
      First of all I just need it to calculate and save nothing in the database. Later on some fields will be filled in the database.

Kind regards,

Johan

• 1. Re: Calculations screen
          hbrendel

I'm not clear what you mean exactly. Can you elaborate a bit more?

What is happening? What are you doing and what is FM doing that you don't want to happen?

• 2. Re: Calculations screen
            JohanBoerema_1

Hi thanks for your reply,

I would like to have a screen in which I first select the customer and then FM shows the customer details (address etc.).
            When that's done, I would like to select an item from the items table (non related tables). This is an item that should be produced, but to calculate the price, the sales has to play with some variables. How many meters, set-up time etc. This is default saved with the items, but when the sales is playing around to calculate a good price, I don't want this to be saved in the items table.

The screen has a lot of fields in which the sales can change. After a while he has a good price.

I think I'm also creating a calculation table in which I save al the playing around of the sales. Is that the right way?