10 Replies Latest reply on Mar 12, 2015 2:57 PM by philmodjunk

Can fields contain images?

PamelaSnyder

Title

Can fields contain images?

Is it possible to put an image (like a jpg) in a field?

I am trying to track chemical safety data.  One of the required items is (are) a pictogram(s) - there are only 9 of them.  

I was hoping to create a table with the pictograms - and then as new chemicals are received I could use a look up to import the correct pictogram(s) for each chemical.

If putting an image in a field is not possible - what is the best way to pull the image up by an associated term?

I'm not a programmer/developer  - so please use small words :)  

Thank you!

Pam

• 1. Re: Can fields contain images?
          schamblee

You can insert an image into a container field.

• 2. Re: Can fields contain images?
            PamelaSnyder

Thanks for the info!

I have tried copying and pasting from Paint and Picassa and nothing happens.  Is there a secret?

• 3. Re: Can fields contain images?
              schamblee

It can not be a text field, it has to be a container field.

• 4. Re: Can fields contain images?
                PamelaSnyder

awesome!  It makes me cringe when the answers are so simple - but it makes me happy as well.  Thank you!

• 5. Re: Can fields contain images?
                  GuyStevens

Hi Pamela, I liked your question and decided to make a quick little video to show how this could be done.
                  I wouldn't suggest using a lookup to continually copy the image because your database would become very large in size. 

But you can make a simple related table with a few images and link to that.

Check out my video here.
                  And my Test File.

My Youtube Channel
                  My Udemy Courses

• 6. Re: Can fields contain images?
                    PamelaSnyder

Guy Stevens - this is great!  I have set it up and it works - but (there is always a but)  how does this work with repeating fields?