3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 18, 2010 8:13 PM by davidanders

Can FileMaker do all this?

GarethForwood

Title

Can FileMaker do all this?

Hi there,

I just downloaded a trial for FileMaker Pro 11, but before I purchase I was wondering if FileMaker is capable of everything I need.  I am an aviation photographer with about 5000 photos currently catalogued in Excel (I know, rather primitive).  I am looking to use FileMaker both as a photo catalogue but also to aid me in my workflow with the images.  I briefly considered Bento 3, but I require the autofill function that can only be obtained with a relational database.  Essentially I am looking to create something similar to the JetPhotos.Net website, but for only my own locally stored photos.

The main things I'm after are:

1. RAW image support (Canon CR2 files) - i.e. the ability to display the raw image similarly to Jpeg
      2. The ability to attach multiple photos (i.e. the original CR2 and an edited Jpeg) to one record
      3. The ability to open a photo from FileMaker in an external editor (Photoshop CS5)
      4. The ability to select certain photos from the database to be added to a separate database that will be on my website (this feature will be added a long way down the track...)
      5. The ability to extract certain EXIF information (i.e. date taken, camera used etc)

I am currently mucking around with the Windows version under trial while I wait for my new iMac to be delivered, after which time I will run FileMaker on the Mac.

Many thanks in advance for any advice that can be offered.

Gareth.

• 1. Re: Can FileMaker do all this?
          davidanders

Yes, but

There are databases that are designed for photo management. iPhoto for one.

Filemaker can do all you ask, but reinventing the wheel, without a unique requirement, may not be necessary.

It all depends on what needs to be stored and how it needs to be accessed. Bento may be a better fit.

I am unsure about the RAW (CR2?) requirement.