3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 18, 2014 7:54 AM by philmodjunk

Can I do this in FMP?

FredKempf

Title

Can I do this in FMP?

Hi folks,

I'm a relative newbie to FMP.  I am using FMP 12 on a Mac, and I have a pretty good idea of what I am hoping to get from it, but I don't know how to get there, or if it's even possible.  My work involves the analysis of hundreds of legal documents per project.  I typically receive a "table of contents" (of sorts) from a contractor, in Excel, with each row containing descriptive information for one document.  I have figured out how to take the contents of that into a table in my FMP file, and have created 4 other tables with complementary information (client information, project information, etc.), all of which constitutes my database.  My goal is to use all of this information to help me create my final report to my clients.

My reports to my clients are done in Word, and typically 50-150 pages long, including various exhibits.  Among the things I'd like to be able to do would be this:

Select certain records in FMP (based on various criteria), and for each of those records, effectively populate a Word-friendly form or layout.  This needs to be effectively a "two step" kind of process.  The first step would be to get the data (properly formatted) from FMP, and  into a MS Word file, in a standard format.   As the second step, once I get this data Into Word, I'd then add text to the Word document to provide my client the details of my analysis.