4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 9, 2011 4:14 PM by billcritten

Can I enforce referential integrity using relationships?

billcritten

Title

Can I enforce referential integrity using relationships?

I created a Master/Detail table setup and joined the tables on the ID fields where ID is primary key in Master and Foreign key in Detail.  I also checked the box to allow to create records based on this relationship in the detail table.  The idea is that the user should not be able to save a detail data record unless there is a corresponding record in the master table.  Is it possible to enforce this?  How to achieve this?  No worries about any complexities (as I am a coder).  I just need to learn the ways of FM.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Can I enforce referential integrity using relationships?
          philmodjunk

You can use a validation rule that is invalid unless there is a matching parent record. This is only an issue for records created on a layout based directly on the detail table. In a portal to detail on the master layout, this will not be needed so I would only do this if my system design makes creating records on such a layout possible.

You can also enable the "delete related records in this table..." option for the detail table so that deleting a master table also deletes all related detail tables. This option must be implemented with care, but it is necessary to help ensure that you do not have any "orphaned" detail records.

• 2. Re: Can I enforce referential integrity using relationships?
            billcritten

I think the terminology is getting me a little confused. 

"In a portal to detail on the Master layout"  

may I ask how I go about assembling/creating this portal to detail on the Master layout?  So far, I created a layout for the Master table and a layout for the detail table.  I am guessing that these layouts are independent of each other.  How would I go about creating the portal to the detail table (or is that to the detail layout) ?

Thanks