2 Replies Latest reply on May 6, 2015 10:06 AM by bajadude

Can someone help me with a simple question about the Contacts starter solution?

bajadude

Title

Can someone help me with a simple question about the Contacts starter solution?

I'm new to FileMaker and I'm trying to understand the inner workings of the Contacts starter solution. I have most of it figured out, but I'm stuck on the map that's displayed on the Desktop/Contact Details layout.

At the top of the right column there are two buttons that switch the map between work address and personal address. Where the heck is the code/trigger/script that gets executed when either of the buttons are clicked?

• 1. Re: Can someone help me with a simple question about the Contacts starter solution?
          philmodjunk

Each version of FileMaker comes with different starter solutions. I must assume that you have opened a FileMaker 13 starter solution.

The near total lack of any documentation in these solutions is frustrating and a highly unprofessional thing to release as an example file for developers to learn from. (The design of each starter solution that I've looked at is pretty good and taught me a few new tricks, but I would never ever release something so devoid of documentation.)

The map section on the right is actually an invisible slide control with two panels. There are actually 4 buttons not 2. You see two buttons at a time, two on one slide control panel and two on the other. The dark grey buttons are "do nothing" buttons. The Light grey buttons perform a "go to object" script step to select the other panel and then switch you back and forth between the home and work address panels. The "code" for the maps is build into the web viewer found in each panel.

This code uses a custom function "get map" that you will not be able to use in your own solutions unless you have acquired FileMaker Advanced.