8 Replies Latest reply on Jun 21, 2010 8:05 AM by TSRaven

Can't Access my IWP database remotely

jmnelson83

Title

Can't Access my IWP database remotely

Using Filemaker Pro 10 and am trying to host my database via IWP.  I can access it when I am within the same LAN from a different machine, but I have not been able to access it remotely over the web.  I am an IT novice, but I suspect security settings on my remote server/network are prohibiting access.  Any help is appreciated.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Can't Access my IWP database remotely
          PointInSpace

You probably need to enable port forwarding on your router for port 80 to the internal IP of your host machine.

- John

• 2. Re: Can't Access my IWP database remotely
            jmnelson83

Thanks for the quick help.  I'll try that. 

• 3. Re: Can't Access my IWP database remotely
              jmnelson83

I enabled port forwarding for port 80, and still no luck with any remote access.  I get the following message when trying to access remotely:  "The Server is taking too long to respond."

Any other suggestions are appreciated.

• 4. Re: Can't Access my IWP database remotely
                davidanders

http://speedtest.net

will show the internet access speed of your computers

WinXP, Vista, Win7, OSX?

Browser being used

Version of Filemaker (Pro, Adv, Server, ver10...)

Pinging the remote computer also can provide info.

RAM in the hosting computer?

Size of the database.

Response time on the same LAN?

There are many variables.

• 5. Re: Can't Access my IWP database remotely
                  jmnelson83