5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 14, 2012 8:26 PM by tlawson

Can't create one to many relationship

Title

Can't create one to many relationship

Obviously, I am new to FileMaker

I created two tables:

1.           Store
      3.           Locations

I want to create a 1-to-many relationship between "Store" and "Locations".  I created a unique ID field on each table using a string with the formula "Get (UUID)".  The reason I'm not using serial numbers is that the database will be multiuser and I want to make sure values are unique (I'm not sure how FileMaker handles a multi-user environment with sequential numbers as the primary key).

I also created a foreign key in the "Locations" table.  I linked the fk in the Locations table with the pk in the Store table.   I also created a portal to test the results (which appear to work).

The problem is that when I go into the "Manage DB" and look at the "Relationships" tab, the relationship shows as a "many-to-many" relationship instead of the "one-to-many" I'm looking for.  How do I change the relationship or does it even really matter?

Thanks!!!!!

Screen_Shot_2012-12-14_at_4.08.59_PM.png

• 1. Re: Can't create one to many relationship
          philmodjunk

Serial numbers work just fine in a multi-user environment. Get ( UUID ) is a feature new to FileMaker 12. We've used the serial number in multi-user environments for years. Get ( UUID ) should do the job, but make sure that you define this ONLY for Dealership, not the kf field in Location. That field should be a simple text field with no such auto-enter calculation.

If you add a "unique values" validation to the __kp field, you'll then see the expected single line connection to the Dealership table occurrence. (or you can switch to serial numbers.)

• 2. Re: Can't create one to many relationship

That was it!!!!!  Thanks!