6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 31, 2012 6:57 AM by whardy7

Can't pass right records to report

whardy7

Title

Can't pass right records to report

I have a master layout where I am entering Books and multiple Subjects per book. That is also the one-to-many relationship. Through a Find, I come up with a subset of records that I need to run a Report on. My Report is another layout where I want to use the Found records to show each Book and its related Subjects. Each layout works perfectly by itself, but using a Button on the master layout to go to the Report (using GTRR or Go To Layout, etc.), it isn't using the Found set. 

How do I get the Report to use the records I found using the master layout? Thanks in advance for any help.

whardy

• 1. Re: Can't pass right records to report
          philmodjunk

Books----<Subjects

On which table, Books or Subjects, is the layout based where you perform your find?

On which table, books or Subjects, is the layout based that you want to use for your report?

• 2. Re: Can't pass right records to report
            whardy7

The find layout is based on Books.

The report is based on Subjects so that I can have that as the body of the grouping

(I should clarify that it is actually subject occurences because I make it sound like it is just subjects which would need to be a many-to-many, but I won't get into that. Trust me, it is a one-to-many.)

• 3. Re: Can't pass right records to report
              philmodjunk

So your find is finding book records, but your report needs to list the records from the related join table...

Option 1)

Perform the find from the report layout. This finds all join table records linked to a book record with the specified criteria.

Option 2)

Perform the find on your books layout, then use Go To Related Records with the "match found set" option to pull up all the matching join table records on your report layout.

Both methods should produce the same found set of join table records.