13 Replies Latest reply on Nov 21, 2012 11:12 AM by philmodjunk

Cascading Update for Inventory Item Location

SkipperID

Title

Cascading Update for Inventory Item Location

Hi 

Newbie here, using FM12. 

I have a db with inventory items, which are all stored in different locations. I have a [Locations] table which sort of works like an order details table linked to the [Item] table. 

LocationRecordID (PK)
           ItemID (on [Items])
           Building
           Room
           Row
           Shelf
           Pallet
           Box

What I'd like to be able to do is: 
           1. Scan barcode of Item
           2. Scan barcode of parent location
           3. Update higher level data into current field.

For example:
           I have previously recorded that Box #5 is in Building 1, Room 2, Row 3, Shelf 4, Pallet 5

I want to put Item #22 into box #5. So I scan Item #22 and Scan Box #5, and then want the rest of the fields to note that it is in Building 1, Room 2, etc. 

I want this to cascade (upwards, I think) so that if I can go to the warehouse and make changes to any part of this storage chain (move the pallet to a different shelf, Row, Room, Building and still know where the item is.)

SO: If I move box #5 to a different pallet, shelf, etc. all I would need to do is scan Box #5 and the new pallet/shelf/ etc. # and I would have the current location of any part of the location of the item. (because the item is still in Box #5)

Notes: 
           - not worried about the scanning scripts in this post
           - Some items can be in a room but not on a shelf, not on a row, pallet, etc.
           - I am not only concerned with where the item is, I am also concerned with where it has been

Not sure I am going about this the right way... any thoughts would be appreciated!

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Cascading Update for Inventory Item Location
          philmodjunk