6 Replies Latest reply on Jan 22, 2014 8:02 AM by philmodjunk

Cash Flow Statement

asdadsddsdds

Title

Cash Flow Statement

Hello Ladies and Gentlemen, 

First time posting here. I am an amateur filemaker user that is trying to make a cash flow statement file for my company,  I started out by making two tables, one for the names of the types of inflows and other for the names of the types outflows, then I made two other tables to input and report the inflows and outflows separately. Finally, I made an overview table, to get an overview of the amounts of inflows and outflows and here is where things get messy, I made a ton of portals to be able to get the totals of the categories for every month, but I cant, for the love of life, get filemaker to add the totals of the inflows and outflows for a particular month. I attached a picture of my overview layout and of my relationships. The portal rows on the left are for the inflows and the ones on the right are for the outflows. I really hope you guys can help me out.

I thank you in advance for your help and please don't make fun of me :)

Screen_shot_2014-01-20_at_10.14.26.png

• 1. Re: Cash Flow Statement
          philmodjunk

I would suggest a combined table for "in" and "out" transactions that use a debit and credit field for the two kinds of transactions. That then produces a unified table of transactions that you can use for your report. Here's a demo file: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/78737945/AccountingLedger.fmp12

• 2. Re: Cash Flow Statement
            asdadsddsdds

Thank you very much!

• 3. Re: Cash Flow Statement
              asdadsddsdds

Dear @PhilModJunk, 

I thank you again for your response, as you can see from the attached image, I have changed your solution to fit my particular situation, my only problem, is to forward the balance from the end of one month to the next.

I thank you again for all of your help!

• 4. Re: Cash Flow Statement
                philmodjunk