3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 30, 2012 6:55 AM by philmodjunk

Change field properties using script

EwanMcallister

Title

Change field properties using script

I need to change the properties of a field using a script. If a field value is equal to a specific value then I want to change, ideally, the visibility and/or the field entry mode of another field to either allow or disallow entry or to change visibility. I am relatively new to FM so maybe this is a simple task.

• 1. Re: Change field properties using script
          philmodjunk

You canot dynamically change the properties of a layout's field object via a script. You'll need to use other methods to achieve these results.

See this demo file for a list of options for controlling the visibility of a layout object: https://www.dropbox.com/s/8levaz6deiyzjr8/LayoutObjectVisibilityControlDemo.fp7

Controlling field accessibility can be done with script triggers or you can set up Record Level Acces controls to control access to a specific record on a record by record basis. You can also use validation rules that reject any changes to a record if a validation calculation you create does not evaluate to a "True" value.

• 2. Re: Change field properties using script
            EwanMcallister

Thanks for the reply, I get the visibility bit but cant seem to get how to control say a fields entry mode. Say I dont want an entry to a field unless a condition is met, how can I inhibit entry to the field until the condition is met.

• 3. Re: Change field properties using script
              philmodjunk