8 Replies Latest reply on Feb 19, 2009 12:16 PM by BobSchwenkler

Change one field and make others change with it (FM demo files)

BobSchwenkler

Title

Change one field and make others change with it (FM demo files)

Hi all,

I'm new to Filemaker and am studying the demo files available for download from the website.

I'm working right now with the sales order database and layouts. In its form view you are able to click on the contact name and select a contact from the value list. When you make a selection all of the associated shipping info changes to correspond with this contact. I can't figure out what is doing this though.

I've narrowed it down to something about the relationship between this DB and the contacts DB. When I create another instance of the contacts DB and make the same relationship this function is no longer working. Any help on what is going on here?

• 1. Re: Change one field and make others change with it (FM demo files)
          TSGal

Bob Schwenkler:

Thank you for your post.

Unfortunately, I am unable to find the "Sales Order" database on our web site.

In Form view, if you are able to select a name from a value list, you can view how this is created by pulling down the View menu, selecting "Layout Mode", and then double-clicking on the Name field.  It will show you a value list, where you can also edit and see how that works.  This may give you the help needed for what you are trying to do.

If you still need help, let me know.

TSGal

FileMaker, Inc. 

• 2. Re: Change one field and make others change with it (FM demo files)
            BobSchwenkler

Hi,

The file in question is the Business Productivity Kit available at this page

http://www.filemakertrial.com/nskto/download_land/default.aspx?ovmkt=1DED1AE6610A4B6283F936C122E1D461&WT.mc_id=1DED1AE6610A4B6283F936C122E1D461&entry=076E64AA-5BC1-45B2-88E6-C5956BEF782D