6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 24, 2015 9:07 AM by JimMiller_2

Chart how-to: Count of factor 1 vs. factor 2?

JimMiller_2

Title

Chart how-to: Count of factor 1 vs. factor 2?

I'm new to Filemaker, and am still trying to figure out how its charting system works.  I've got a database that contains, among other things, columns for "age" and "household income".  Each row has a value for these columns, like so:

•      
      • Household income: One of "less than $25,000", "$25,000 - $35,000", and so on.

I'm trying to get a graph containing sets of columns that show the number of people in each cell of the table, if you will:

• For age = 18-24, the numbers of people in each of the income groups
      •      
      • For age = 25-34, the numbers of people in each of the income groups,
      •      
      • and so on

Pretty straightforward, but I just can't figure it out.  I'm guessing it has something to do with creating leading or trailing groups, but, again, I'm just not there.  Can anybody offer some advice?  Thanks!

• 1. Re: Chart how-to: Count of factor 1 vs. factor 2?
          philmodjunk

What kind of chart? a line Chart? stacked bar chart?

but then you refer to "leading or trailing groups" which suggests that your "chart" might be either a summary report or a cross tab "chart" of this data...

• 2. Re: Chart how-to: Count of factor 1 vs. factor 2?
            JimMiller_2

A stacked bar is probably the right thing, but right now I'm just trying to get both aspects of the data into the chart.

My table looks something like this:

idageincome
            118-24Less than $25,000
            225-29$25,000-$40,000
            325-29$25,000-$40,000
            430-40$40,000-60,000
            518-24Less than $25,000
            625-29Less than $25,000
            718-24$25,000-$40,000
            818-24$25,000-$40,000
            930-40$100,000-$150,000

and I'd like to get a stacked-bar chart that shows: