9 Replies Latest reply on Jun 1, 2012 2:41 PM by philmodjunk

Charting final summary values

mq02

Title

Charting final summary values

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to Filemaker so bear with me if there is a relatively obvious/easy solution to this. I am trying to chart the FINAL summary values of a database that uses primarily checkboxes, but I can't figure out how to do it so that it only shows the most recent data (as opposed to the entire set). 

Essentially, I have

Item 1

Item 2

Item 3

Item 10

All have values of 1 if checkd, and 0 otherwise (I'm assuming it is 0 at least). I have two trailing summaries set for all of them, total and count. I want to do a stacked bar so that it shows the number checked on the bottom and number not checked on the top, and I want to do it so that all ten items are next to each other on the same graph. The farthest I have been able to get is graphing all ten seperately on different charts, with all of the summary values on it (i.e., if I have 8 records of all the items, all 8 summary values are graphed next to each other), but I only need the very last set. Is this possible? Hope that question makes sense (I attachhed an image to clarify). 

Thanks in advance. 

untitled.JPG

• 1. Re: Charting final summary values
          philmodjunk

Am I correct that you want 10 bars--one for each question that show the number checked and the number unchecked?

I would suggest that you restructure your table so that each checkbox is the same field of a related table. A second field in the table can serve as a "label" field in order to identify each.

You can then build your chart with summary fields counting and summing your responses if you sort your records by the Label field and then chart the grouped data to get one bar for each group of records.

• 2. Re: Charting final summary values
            mq02

Yes, that is indeed correct.