3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 16, 2012 2:58 PM by LaRetta_1

CHECKBOX

goodkinbrett

Title

CHECKBOX

I'm new to FM and have ported an Access solution over....

Here's my question:

I have a table that includes a checkbox field (text) that allows up to 21 seperate selections.  My question is....  How do I create a report that can summarize a record and count the selections made in the checkbox field?

I feel stupid but I cannot figure this out!

Thanks in advance for your help!

• 1. Re: CHECKBOX
          raybaudi

To count the selections made in the checkbox field, you could use the ValueCount( ) function.

• 2. Re: CHECKBOX
            philmodjunk

Do you want to count the selections in the field of a given record or count the records that have a specific value selected?

Should this really be a checkbox group (where multiple values can be selected in one field for one record) or should it be radio buttons? (Only one value can be selected).

• 3. Re: CHECKBOX
              LaRetta_1

Hi Brett,

A checkbox is fine, allowing multiple selections ... it actually turns a field into a mini-table and it is a handy tool.  But this mini-table cannot summarize.  For sake of example, you have Patients table with checkbox for Disorders and you want to summarize (count) how many Patients have each disorder.  You can produce a list of patients with one particular disorder simply by finding them and your found set is your count of that Disorder. You cannot produce a list like this:

Disorder Alpha: total count = 3
              • Patient Adam
              • Patient Betty
              • Patient Cecil

Disorder Bravo: total count = 4
              • Patient Betty
              • Patient David
              • Patient Eve
              • Patient John