1 2 Previous Next 25 Replies Latest reply on Nov 9, 2010 11:44 AM by TylerRains

Checkbox help

TylerRains

Title

Checkbox help

Im new to FileMaker and just need a little help:

Im  trying to make a checkbox represent a value. For Example fo the particular project Im working on when I select the checkbox label Single I want the value to be 60 in the open field above the box. Is there anyway I can make that happen without mannually putting in all the information? Simplistic steps, really dumb it down, im usually good at this stuff, but this has me stuck.

thanks in advance

• 1. Re: Checkbox help
          philmodjunk

A key question: do you have multiple checkboxes for a single field? This can make a difference in how you do this.

There are quite a few different methods you can use for this.

1. You can set the number field to look up the value from a related table--useful if the value entered may change in the future such as if this is a purchase price for an item.
          2. The number field can be a field from a related table placed on your layout with the relationship based on the value or values in your checkbox field. Similar to option 1, but changes in the related table automatically appear in all existing records on your main layout.
          3. You can create a calculation field that returns the desired value based on the value or values selected in the checkbox field--result is read only.
          4. You can set up an auto-entered calculation that puts 60 into the field when the box is clicked--this allows people to edit the 60 into something else if that is needed.

The exact details for implementing any of these depend on what you want to do and how your check box field is configured.

• 2. Re: Checkbox help
            TylerRains

I think what im looking for is what you described in 4.

What exact steps would I go though for that?

• 3. Re: Checkbox help
              philmodjunk