9 Replies Latest reply on Apr 10, 2013 4:27 AM by JimMac

Checkbox Selection to set Date

JasonMcCullough

Title

Checkbox Selection to set Date

Hey guys,

using the assests template and modifying it to suit my needs but I need to be able to set assets to a renewel date for testing periods. 

I have set up a checkbox system which is 3 months, 6 months or 12 months and I want the renewel date to auto fill for me. 

Can anyone explain how to do this im new to filemker and while worked out most other things im getting stuck on this. 

Also is there anyway to set it so that I can get a list and reminders as to when I need to retest equipment for instance

Item 1 - Assigned to (fred) renew 6 months

but I want a reminder in 4 months that fred has items that need to be retested so I need to then be able to access his files so I know which items and location they are in...does that make sense? 

Thanks in advance

Jason

• 1. Re: Checkbox Selection to set Date
          JimMac

Check Box type format will allow all 3 of your renewal to be checked off.   3 AND 6 AND 12.  I am guessing you want ...

3 OR 6 OR 12  thus a unique calculation which is Radio Button type format.  

True?

Jim...

• 2. Re: Checkbox Selection to set Date
            JasonMcCullough

Hi Jim,

Im not sure of what your saying there 

I really want it that 

IF (Checkbox 1 (3 Months) ) is selected the renewel date will be todays date+3 months (Calendar Months)

(Checkbox 2 (6 Months) ) is selected the renwel date will be todays date+6 months

(Checkbox 3 (12 Months) ) is selected the renewel date will be todays date+12 Months

Save me having to select a date 3 months down the track on a drop down calendar 

• 3. Re: Checkbox Selection to set Date
              JimMac

What if I check all 3 of them? What would be your calculation?

A radio button only allow one to be selected.

use a Choose Function  with the full label of each Radio Button item.  ie, "3 months"