3 Replies Latest reply on May 3, 2011 9:31 AM by philmodjunk

Checkbox sets

simx48

Title

Checkbox sets

I have a field with 8 different values in the value list using the checkbox set control style.  I'm wondering if there is a way to have the checkboxes automatically check off the appropriate values when I import my data from an excel file.  I have about 3,000 different records so it would be a hassle to go through each individual record and check the appropriate boxes manually.  I'm new to FMP so any help would be appreciated.

• 1. Re: Checkbox sets
          LaRetta_1

How would the values for each record be determined?  Checkbox is only a tool for entering regular data in a field. 

You can set the field as an auto-enter Data if the value is the same for all records.  If all records have a different checkbox value depending upon values in other fields in same record then you can use auto-enter by calculation.

Then during import, be sure to specify 'perform auto-enter' when asked.  Once the data is in FM, you can use Replace Field Contents[] to set the checkbox values through a set of records.  If you explain more about the values, we could be more specific.

• 2. Re: Checkbox sets
            james.gould

I'm not sure on the exact technique, and some of it may depend on the format of the data imported into the system - the 8 checkboxes you have in your Filemaker solution are all in one field, if these are 8 separate yes/no fields in your existing data - you will have to perform some data manipulation in order to get all the information you need into one field.