10 Replies Latest reply on Jun 30, 2015 7:23 AM by philmodjunk

Chemical database

PamelaSnyder

Title

Chemical database

I am using filemaker Pro 13 to manage a molecular laboratory - I am not a developer. 

I have a table for all the unique chemicals that are ordered.  I am looking for a system for tracking items as they are ordered and received.  I was thinking of using a 3 table system.

So the first table "chem list" contains a record for each unique item that is ordered - the second table  "ordered" is a holding file for items that have been ordered - I was hoping to duplicate the record or some subset of fields from the first table - and add a order date and quantity ordered  - but I'm not sure which tools to use.

then when the item arrived I would like to transfer the record out of the "ordered" table into a third table "chem inventory" where specific info like received date, lot number and expiration date fields could be added.

The first and the third table already exist - but I would like to streamline the creation of the  table 3 - inventory records to avoid errors and save time.  what is the best way to set this up?

• 1. Re: Chemical database
          TKnTexas

From what you have described, I would see two tables.  Table 1 - WHAT could be ordered.  Table 2 is the Order.  It is not necessary to duplicate the items in Table 1 into Table 2.  A connection of a Key Field to link them is enough.  What you describe as Table 3 may really be Table 2, but with a STATUS field that is changed.  

• 2. Re: Chemical database
            PamelaSnyder

I need an intermediate table because the items do not necessarily arrive in the same order as they were placed and the third table assigns an inventory number that physically tracks the item in the lab, back ordered items can linger for weeks.

• 3. Re: Chemical database
              philmodjunk