8 Replies Latest reply on Nov 16, 2010 9:19 AM by philmodjunk

Client Invoice Statements

NevilleHornsey

Title

Client Invoice Statements

Hello,

Newbie here so please be gentle.

I have a database with a table for clients names, a table with jobs, a table with invoices. I am trying to create a table for showing outstanding invoices, sorted for an individual client and in date order.

I create the relationship between the current tables based on clients name from a drop down list. I can get the table to show all the invoices ever created just not the ones that are unpaid.

Should I be trying to sort the invoice records in the invoice layout or am I going the right way round by creating a new table specifically for unpaid invoices?

Or if anyone knows a way of doing this even more elegantly I'd be pleased to hear from you.

Best regards,

invoice.jpg

• 1. Re: Client Invoice Statements
          philmodjunk

Using a new table for unpaid invoices is not a good idea. That requires you to physically copy the data from one table to another everytime an invoice changes status from "unpaid" to "paid".

Instead, you can use a filtered portal (FileMaker 11 only) or filtered relationship to list only unpaid invoices in a portal. If you base your layout directly on the invoices layout, you can perform a find for all invoices where a status field stores a value that tells you the invoice is still "unpaid".

On another note, using a client name field to link your tables is not a good idea. Client names are not unique, they change their names and it's easy to incorrectly enter a name. Dealing with all of those issues can cause a lot of problems when your client's name is used in the relationship between tables. Instead, you should define a serial number field in your Contact Management table and use it to link client data to other tables.

• 2. Re: Client Invoice Statements
            NevilleHornsey

Hello Phil,

Thank you for your quick reply.