6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 2, 2015 4:17 PM by philmodjunk

Collecting Customer Info

JohnThompson_1

Title

Collecting Customer Info

Hey guys,

I'm kind of a newbie here and I was wondering if someone can help me out. This is childs play for a lot of you I know.

I'm looking for a way to have customers enter their name, address and other info and then choose from a list of items with check boxes next to them that they are interested in. At the end of the week I would like a list like this:

Bill Jones

123 Miller Road.

Detroit, MI 

(313) 555-5555

Roofing, Siding, Concrete, Floors, Landscaping, Painting, Carpet

Can someone give me a detailed way to do this?  As I said, Im JUST learning FileMaker Pro.

THANKS!!!!!!!

JT

• 1. Re: Collecting Customer Info
          philmodjunk

The standard check box format would set up a group of check box values that all enter values into the same field. This is not ideal for what you want to do in terms of your report. It could be done, but it will be harder to set up reports based on the data entered and much more work to maintain as the need arises over time to modify what values you want to list with a check box.

I suggest that you set up a related table for collecting the list of items of interest for each customer. This can still have a check list format, but since you appear new to this, I suggest first getting the related table working and adding in the check box format if you still need to as a second part of your development process.

SO first the simple approach to a related table:

Set up these tables and relationships:

Customers----<Items

Customers::__pkCustomerID = Items::_fkCustomerID

For now, enable "allow creation of records via this relationship and put a portal to Items on a Customer layout. Again, this is not the final part, but see if you can get this to work where you can build a list of items in the portal by typing text into a text field defined in Items.