6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 19, 2015 1:19 PM by koenraadb

Color-formatting text within large text field - using script

koenraadb

Title

Color-formatting text within large text field - using script

Hi,

Although I've done my share of programming in another life, I'm a newbie to FM Pro. I hope someone can help me with this.

I am currently doing a large medical literature review. In order to make it easy for the reviewer to spot relevant text, I'd like to preformat the 'abstract' field, which typically contains a few hundred words. For instance, when searching for 'cancer', I'd like to be able to make each occurrence of the word 'cancer' bold and red, so it stands out and allows the reader to get to the relevant sections quickly.

I have not been able to find scripts or functions that do that. Does anyone have a suggestion?

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Color-formatting text within large text field - using script
          SteveMartino

You could instead try setting the field where the text you like to change with conditional formatting.  For example, if you use a field for your searches, in this case a global field, that triggers a search script, in the field  you are searching you can create a calculation for conditional formatting, i.e

PatternCount(Self;Products::gPortal_Sort) 

Self is used so you can put this calculation in any field--you could also just use the Table::field_name. This the field you want to change the color on.  Products::gPortal_Sort is the drop-down field you use for the search, that trips the search trigger

Then you select 'bold' and pick a red color for the formatting. 

So when the word in the search field is cancer, everyplace in the text body where the word cancer is, will be bold and red.  It may need a refresh script step, but the search should cover that.

Edit:  This advice is wrong as it will change all the text in the field, as pointed out by Phil (see below).  I wont edit/delete the post above, otherwise it might create confusion.