1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply on Apr 12, 2012 3:20 AM by expediter

Combine 2 date fields into one field or list

expediter

Title

Combine 2 date fields into one field or list

I am really new to filemaker and struggling. I have two date fields that need to be tracked for two separate deadilines. I'd like to be able to combine the two fields to come up with a list of all deadline dates that could be sorted as one list. I tried using the list function referencing the two date fields (both in the same source table) but the results only listed one of the date fields. Does anyone know how to accomplish this?

• 1. Re: Combine 2 date fields into one field or list
          philmodjunk

List ( DateField1 ; DateField2 )

Should work, but your valuelist will be of Text, rather than dates so it will work as a source of data for your value list, but not as good way to work with your data as actual dates.

• 2. Re: Combine 2 date fields into one field or list
            expediter

Is there a better way to do this? I have tried the List as you mentioned. It returns both dates into the same field value and then lists the two dates in this format "4.102e+12". When I click on the field it shows both the dates but this format is not useful for my purpose of displaying the values from both fields in one list. Any other ideas I could pursue?

• 3. Re: Combine 2 date fields into one field or list
              Sorbsbuster

Could you clarify: "I'd like to be able to combine the two fields to come up with a list of all deadline dates that could be sorted as one list."

Do you mean that you would like to see, for example, all the records that are close to Deadline Date A, and also all the records that are close to Deadline Date B, and then sort them by Person Responsible, for example?

If that is the case you don't need to combine the dates.

• 4. Re: Combine 2 date fields into one field or list
                philmodjunk

Perhaps: