13 Replies Latest reply on Mar 28, 2010 9:15 PM by JeffHughe

Combining fields from 4 different files

DaleFoster

Title

Combining fields from 4 different files

I am using FileMakerPro 10.0v3 for MAC. I have created 4 different fp7 files, each containing unique fields with data about a unique account # (field 1 in each file). So, if I find records in one file, say field 2 is > 100,000, I need to get all data from the other three files that match the account #, field 1. 

I am a newbie to databases and would appreciate any help you can be.

• 1. Re: Combining fields from 4 different files
          ninja

Dale Foster wrote:

So, if ...field2 is > 100,000, I need to get all data from the other three files that match the account #, field 1. 

Howdy Dale,

What will you then do with said data?  What you'll then want to do with it could bear on the best way to go get it.

Any way you look at it, you'll want to set up file references to your other databases(File>Manage>File References) and relate them on your relationship graph (File>Manage>Database>relationships tab).  What you do next depends on what you're trying to accomplish.

• 2. Re: Combining fields from 4 different files
            MikeyG79

First I'd combine all the separate files into 1 with multiple databases. Then create some relations between them.

• 3. Re: Combining fields from 4 different files
              ninja

That may be worth looking at.

Combining the 4 files into One database with multiple tables may indeed be a good choice, but it is not required in order to form the relationships.

Note: no word games intended, just wording it for clarity for new folks.

• 4. Re: Combining fields from 4 different files
                DaleFoster

What I am wanting to do is to take multiple fields from each file and create one consolidated data base.

• 5. Re: Combining fields from 4 different files
                  DaleFoster

Thanks.