7 Replies Latest reply on Dec 4, 2012 11:52 AM by philmodjunk

Combining Fields in new Table

MLind

Title

Combining Fields in new Table

I have a master table of data which includes two separate fields that have data for the same product and want to know if there is a way to populate another table where it combines the two fields into a single list.  I know ... confusing. 

To explain, I am creating paperwork for an electrical system where Component A can have two light bulbs connected (Bulb 1 and Bulb 2).  The Master Table is the list of Component A's (model, type...) which has Field columns for Bulb 1 (wattage, color) and Bulb 2 (wattage, color).  So, Master Table Fields are:

_id_COMPA

COMPA MODEL

BULB 1 WATTAGE

BULB 1 COLOR

BULB 2 WATTAGE

BULB 2 COLOR

I want to then take the Bulb data for both BULB 1 and BULB 2 and combine it into a separate (or report) showing a single list of a BULB WATTAGE and BULB COLOR so I can create a puchase list of all of the light bulbs.   Please see attached sample tables.

I hope that make enough sense.  Is there anyway in FMP to do that?

SAMPLE_TABLES.jpg

• 1. Re: Combining Fields in new Table
          philmodjunk

Sounds like you are inputting data into table 1 that should never be entered into that table, but should be entered into table 2 from the beginning.

Components-------<Bulbs

Components::__pkComponentID = Bulbs::_fkComponentID

See this thread for an explanation of my notation: Common Forum Relationship and Field Notations Explained

With this setup, you can place a portal to Bulbs on your Components layout and use it to list any number of bulbs for a given component and you can then use a second layout, based on Bulbs to produce the report that you want.

Ps. You might need yet another table between bulbs and components in this relationships if there is a lot of additional info that you need to record about each bulb type used.

• 2. Re: Combining Fields in new Table
            MLind