5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 7, 2013 6:22 PM by RickWhitelaw

Combining records from multiple tables into one layout

ZachAlexander

Title

Combining records from multiple tables into one layout

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to Filemaker, and I've mostly been figuring out how it works (it's pretty intuitive), but I've just hit a snag.

The organization I work for has an entity called the Corporation, which consists of people from three categories: (1) representatives appointed by external organizations, (2) officers of the organization's Board, and (3) the chairs of the standing committees of the organization's Board. 

Each of those things is represented by its own table -- a CorporationRepresentatives table, a BoardOfficers table, and a CommitteeMembership table, which has a field for "chair". (All of these tables have start and end date fields, and are related to records in the People table.)

Here's what I'd like to be able to do: design a layout with a "Date" field at the top, and upon entering a date, everyone who was a member of the Corporation on that date (for whichever of the 3 reasons above) will display below.

Ideally this would be organized into categories; a section called "External representatives", a section called "Officers of the Board", and a section called "Board Committee Chairs". 

Perhaps there's an easy solution, but I've been Filemakering all day and my brain is a bit fried. Much appreciation in advance for your expert advice.

Thanks,

Zach

• 1. Re: Combining records from multiple tables into one layout
          philmodjunk

The main problem is that you have data from 3 different tables. Unless you can combine the data in a single table, you can't use a list view to list all of the records. You could, however, define three portals for listing the records from each group. If there is a consistent number of people listed from each table, that might work fairly well for you.

• 2. Re: Combining records from multiple tables into one layout