1 2 Previous Next 18 Replies Latest reply on Jan 31, 2013 9:25 AM by philmodjunk

Comma Separated Results via CSV Export?

djanke

Title

Comma Separated Results via CSV Export?

Hi,

I am using the export function to export data to a csv or excel file.  The output is giving me a carriage return in the field for any fields that used a checkbox set with multiple selections.  Is there a way to export these that they would be comma separated?  I'm new to filemaker so please excuse the ignorance.

• 1. Re: Comma Separated Results via CSV Export?
          philmodjunk

Yes and no. You can export from a calculation field that replaces the returns with commas, but the entire string will be quoted in order to make sure that the commas inside this field are not treated as field delimitters.

This calculation will take the contents of your checkbox field and return a comma separated list:

Substitute ( YourCheckBoxField ; ¶ ; ", " )

• 2. Re: Comma Separated Results via CSV Export?
            djanke

I put this the field under manage database, options, validated by calculation, but when I export I still have the same result as before.  Is this the correct place to put the calculation? 

• 3. Re: Comma Separated Results via CSV Export?
              philmodjunk

But you export the cacluation field instead of the original field.

And I'd use a field of type calculation for this, not an auto-entered calculation. See: Updating values in auto-enter calc fields without using Replace Field Contents to see why.

A validation calculation isn't what you want here at all as it is supposed to control what data entered into the field is accepted as valid.

• 4. Re: Comma Separated Results via CSV Export?
                djanke

No sure what you mean. Sorry, but very new at this. Where would I enter this? 

• 5. Re: Comma Separated Results via CSV Export?
                  djanke

When I use change field type to calculation I can no longer check the check boxes.