4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 28, 2012 6:51 AM by JimMac

Command-f launches the finder instead of going into Find Mode

pbedouk

Title

Command-f launches the finder instead of going into Find Mode

Hi

I'm new to Filemaker, and while starting the training series I noticed cmd-f is supposed to get into "Find Mode", but on my Mac it launches the OS X Finder instead.  How do I change this behaviour to have cmd-f switch to "Find Mode" as it should?

Thanks

Peter.

iMac, OS X 10.8.2

Filemaker Pro 12.

• 1. Re: Command-f launches the finder instead of going into Find Mode
          davidanders

Filemaker  12.0.3 is current version.

IF you go to Find Mode with menu or lower left database window selection, does Cmd+B go to Browse, CMD+U goes Preveiw and CMD+L goes Layout?  ONLY CMD+F malfunctions?

Do you have custom Keyboard Commands Setup (System Preferences > Keyboard)?

Do you have any utilities installed that create keyboard shortcuts?

If you restart with SHIFT key down (Safe Mode) does it behave the same way?

Keyboard have a sticking key?

• 2. Re: Command-f launches the finder instead of going into Find Mode
            pbedouk

Thank you for your response!  To your questions:

I have FM 12.0.2 installed.

Yes, only cmd-f malfunctions.

re custom keyboard ... i restored defaults, so any that I may have had were removed.

re utilities ... i have many, but none which specifically create shortcuts.

keyboard is ok.

safe mode ... i am now in safe mode and cmd-f behaves correctly.  ie, when in finder it opens a search window, when in filemaker it goes to find mode.

So this is not a Filemaker issue.

What does safe mode eliminate?  all my usual apps which launch at start-up didn't start.  What else??