9 Replies Latest reply on Jul 6, 2011 5:40 AM by millie

Committing record just doesn't work!

millie

Title

Committing record just doesn't work!

I'm fairly new to scripting and thing I must be missing something obvious here.

I am trying to get client info to automatically enter when the id is input.  I have tried to copy the formatting from the starter solution for invoices and as far as I can see have done exactly the same.

However, this still doesn't work.  I suspect there may be an issue with the relationship between the fields but as far as I can see I have set this correctly.

Are there any special steps that anyone can please help me with to try to overcome this? I have looked at committing records in the manual but it is of no help whatsoever.  I have also looked at setting relationships but this doesn't help either.

I have been searching for days to try to resolve this - any help is VERY much appreciated!!!

dbase3in1.jpg

• 1. Re: Committing record just doesn't work!
          philmodjunk

What relationship have you setup? (what tables, fields, operators?)

Do you want a dynamic link to this data? (data stays in client info table, but is displayed on your layout when the ID# is entered here.)

Or do you want to copy the data into fields in your layout's table? (This captures a "snapshot" of your client's current data, changes to the original table won't automatically show here.)

• 2. Re: Committing record just doesn't work!
            IT_User

I know from another forum post I was on, i suggested commiting the record in a script. The person actually commit the record at the very beginning of the scrript instead of the end. Not that I am saying you did that.

In any case it seems to be hard to know with out more information like PhilModJunk asked.

• 3. Re: Committing record just doesn't work!
              millie

Hi there.  Thanks for responding, guys.