7 Replies Latest reply on Sep 13, 2013 9:25 AM by philmodjunk

Compare dates for same week of current year to prior year totals

JohnPiscopo

Title

Compare dates for same week of current year to prior year totals

I am new to FM Pro.  I have a database that has one field for the date of service. I need to create a report that will compare the totals for the month of the current yr to the prior year and list the count difference and the percent of the difference.

Ex jan 2012  Total 285   Jan 2013 Total 302   17 Difference  6 % increase

I also need to do the same calculation on a weekly report comparing the same date (which is always a Sunday) for the prior yr vs the current year.

Ex. 01/08/2012  Total 291  01/06/2013 Total 310   19 Difference  7 % increase

I also need to do the same calculation on a weekly report comparing the same date (which is always a Sunday) for the prior week  vs the current week.

Ex. 01/06/2013  Total 310  01/13/2013 Total 303   7 Difference  2 % decrease

In a decreased value I would want to show this in Red.

I appreciate any help you could provide. Thank you.

• 1. Re: Compare dates for same week of current year to prior year totals
          philmodjunk

And how is your data structured in the table from which you want to make these comparisons? Is that "total" a value in a single record or a group of records?

And what makes 1/8/2012 and 1/6/2013 the two weeks to compare? The fact that they are both the 2nd week in January? Or that they are the 2nd week of the year? (not always the same, I think...)

• 2. Re: Compare dates for same week of current year to prior year totals
            JohnPiscopo

The total is one field in the DB and has an attendance value for each date,

01/06/2013 may have 285 total   01/13/2013  310

01/08/2012  may have 224 total  01/16/2012   234   and so on.