1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply on Jan 12, 2011 8:47 AM by philmodjunk

Compare Results of Records with Duplicate ID Fields

BG_1

Title

Compare Results of Records with Duplicate ID Fields

Hello all,

I'm new to Filemaker Pro and I've run into a problem.

I have a database of pre-test and post-test results, with each record having an ID field.  What I would like to do is be able to is compare the results of each specific pre-test result with that of the post-test.  Some students only took the pre-test, some only took the post-test, and some took both.  Those that took both will appear twice in the database (because of duplicate ID#s).  These are the one's I am specifically interested in. 

Said in another way:

I want to compare John's pre-test with his post-test. I'd like to be able to do this for all duplicate IDs. 

I don't want to compare all pre-tests with all post-tests. 

Thanks very much!

B

• 1. Re: Compare Results of Records with Duplicate ID Fields
          philmodjunk

What data gets entered that distinguishes pretests from post tests?

What kind of comparison do you need? (Just see the two values, do a calculation with them  or...?)

The most basic comparison would be to simply sort the records by your ID# field so that your pre and post test results are grouped together. That can even enable a calculation using GetNthRecord to access data in the preceding or following record if you want. You might also use a relationship to match records in the same table by the ID# field plus one or two other fields to match by student and to discriminate between pre and post tests (So that a record doesn't match to itself).

• 2. Re: Compare Results of Records with Duplicate ID Fields
            BG_1

We have another field that distinguishes it as a pre-test or post-test (shown below).  We would like to compare attitude changes between these tests.  Most of the questions are radio buttoms, stating how much he or she agrees with the statements.