10 Replies Latest reply on Apr 9, 2010 1:37 PM by icecreamboy

Complete newbie asking for help...

icecreamboy

Title

Complete newbie asking for help...

Hi, I'm a complete beginner to FileMaker Pro. I'm currently operating on Windows XP, with FileMaker Pro Advanced 11.

I'm trying to make a simple database with 2 tables: patients and appointments. There are also 2 layouts: patient view, and appointment view. In patient view, it's just general information about the patient. In appointment view, it's a list of all their appointments.

I've learned how to make a button to "create a new patient" and "create a new appointment" but I can't seem to get them to connect. I made a relationship with a patient ID field in both tables.

What I want is a button on the "patient view" layout that says "Go to appointment view". Then when I'm in "appointment view", I want a button that says "New appointment" and I want this new record to automatically be linked to the patient I was just on (for example, by auto-entering the patient ID or something).

I seem to be unable to grasp how to do it, any help would be very much appreciated!

• 1. Re: Complete newbie asking for help...
          icecreamboy

Oh I also forgot to mention that I do know about portals. However, I intend for these layouts to be readily printable, and I've read that portals aren't that great for printing, which is why I opted for a "list view" type of layout for the "appointment view" layout.

• 2. Re: Complete newbie asking for help...
            philmodjunk

You can have both. You can use a portal for data-entry and your list type layout for printing the results. That approach can simplify things a bit for you.

Note: you can create as many layouts as you need, you aren't limited to just one for each table.

• 3. Re: Complete newbie asking for help...
              ninja

Howdy icecreamboy,

Welcome to FMP.

icecreamboy wrote: