11 Replies Latest reply on Mar 25, 2010 1:38 PM by WebDev

Complete novice - is this possible?

WebDev

Title

Complete novice - is this possible?

Hi all

I have been asked to work on a certain task, and I have been told that filemaker pro is the best tool to use for the job.

The challenge is to set up a system to run daily Monday to Friday which emails a word and definition to a set of email addresses.  Filemaker Pro would have the list of email addresses and the lists of words and definitions.

I have not used Filemaker Pro before, so I don't have any experience with it.  Is this the sort of project a complete beginner could easily do?

Many thanks

webdev

• 1. Re: Complete novice - is this possible?
          mrvodka
             It can be done. It is not IMO a difficult task to learn.
          • 2. Re: Complete novice - is this possible?
            WebDev
               Where/how should I start?

I've had a look at Filemaker Pro, but I'm not sure where to start.

Any help is appriciated!

I am using an XP PC - the computer it will run on is a Mac (always on) running FmP 9, version 3.

• 3. Re: Complete novice - is this possible?
              mrvodka

I would start by deconstructing the sample / starter files that come with the solution. I believe that there is a template that deals with email mailings. ( I dont really use them so I am not 100% sure ). Basically your script should take the record with the definition / word and then send it using the Send Mail script to the set of contacts. If you need this to be sent every day, either you can use a scheduled script to run it if using FileMaker Server, or you can use windows scheduler to run a dedicated file that would just perform that scipt on open up ( File Options )that would run the script and then close the file / exit the application.

• 4. Re: Complete novice - is this possible?
                WebDev

I'm getting there!