7 Replies Latest reply on Oct 24, 2011 1:38 PM by LWayne_1

Complex Relationships (two fields from each table)

LWayne_1

Title

Complex Relationships (two fields from each table)

I am new to FileMaker Pro but I am familiar with Microsoft SQL.  When I create a complex relationship (two fields from each table) I would expect the new Table Occurrence to show only the records from both tables where both fields match, like a filtered View in MS SQL.  However, a get all records, is this what should happen?  What would be the purpose of a complex relationship if this is true?

• 1. Re: Complex Relationships (two fields from each table)
          ninja

Howdy,

I wonder if "Perspective" is the issue you are running into...

When I create a complex relationship (two fields from each table) I would expect the new Table Occurrence to show only the records from both tables where both fields match, like a filtered View in MS SQL. 

This is true, but only when viewed from the Perspective of the new table.  If you are on the old table occurrence itself, you will see all records.
          Create a layout based on the new TO, then put a portal on that layout, said portal being from the other table.  You'll get only the related records.
          If you get otherwise, make sure your relationship is in order.

However, a get all records, is this what should happen?

If you are on the 'old' TO which the records are in, yes.
          If you are on the 'new' TO on the other side of the relationship, no...you'll get records 'filtered' through the relationship.

Is this what's going on?

HTH

• 2. Re: Complex Relationships (two fields from each table)
            LWayne_1

Hi,

Thanks for your response. I am not sure I am doing the right thing so I thought I would explain what I am doing.