4 Replies Latest reply on May 11, 2013 7:58 AM by DaveM

Conditional content within a field

DaveM

Title

Conditional content within a field

So, I tried searching, but I'm kind of unsure as to how to put my question into a "searchable" context. I don't thnk that what I'm looking for is a conditional value list -- but I'm a newb, so maybe I'm wrong about this.

What I have is a database that tracks hourly wages, based on projections for the type of work being done on a given day. The type of work day is designated in a field with a value list, IE: "rehearsal", work, prep, etc. I also have totals being generated for everyone working on a given day, so I know what they're making for an eight hour day and a twelve hour day. What I need is a field that looks at the first field (for the type of work -- say, "rehearsal") and will return the "eight hour day" total, but if the first field says "work" it will return the total for the "12 hour day."

Any help would be really appreciated.

• 1. Re: Conditional content within a field
          philmodjunk

To answer that question requires a more detailed understanding of how you have organized your data.

How, at least "on paper", are the 8 hour day and 12 hour day totals computed?

How is your table structured?

Are you computing actual hours worked from a list of people who have "clocked in" in some manner or are you computing an estimated value based on the number of people?

• 2. Re: Conditional content within a field
            DaveM

Hi Phil,