5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 14, 2016 8:31 AM by philmodjunk

Conditional COUNT of field in related table

scoonz

Title

Conditional COUNT of field in related table

I am creating a database for my firm that has two tables: Customer (Parent) and Invoice (Child). The aim of the database is to carry out various analysis. I would like to COUNT a specific field in the Invoice table that has a "Paid" or "Unpaid" answer to show management how many total 'Unpaid' invoices exist. This is equivalent to Excel COUNT(IF)

I have tried using 'If' statements but to no avail. As a newbie I'm not sure where the correct approach would be using CASE and a variable or LOOP function.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Zab

• 1. Re: Conditional COUNT of field in related table
          philmodjunk

You can't use an If or case function in the parent child to selectively count related records in the child table. But you have a number of other methods that can produce those totals.

You can define a summary field in the invoice table that counts the Invoice ID or other field that is never empty. You can then put two one row filtered portals to invoice on a customer layout with a portal filter that filters for "paid" or "unpaid" records. If you put the summary field inside these one row portals, they'll produce the count you want. This is a "display only" trick. You can't use these totals in other calculations or on other layouts.

You can define relationships that match only to paid and only to unpaid invoices as well as by Customer ID. Then count functions can be put in calculation fields in Customer that counts your invoices.

You can put your If or case calculations in the child table. Example: If ( InvoiceStatusFIeld = "Paid" ; InvoiceID ). This calculation field will be empty if the invoice is not paid. Now you can count this calculation field from customer and get a count of all paid invoices for that customer.