3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 2, 2010 3:07 PM by philmodjunk

conditional counts using GTRR problem

Dand

Title

conditional counts using GTRR problem

Hi everyone,

I’m relatively new to Filemaker and databasing in general and I’m having some problems getting a script to work.  I’m using Filemaker Pro 9 on Windows XP SP3 and the database I’m working on is only meant to be used locally on a single machine at this point.  The database tracks students in terms of enrolment (program, full time, part time, citizenship, gender,  etc).  We’d like to be able to produce enrolment counts that represent each possible combination of categories (i.e.  we’d want to know how many male International students are enrolled full time in program X during term Y).  The difficulty I’ve been having with this is that the various fields that need to be checked exist across a few different tables.   The Tables I’m using look something like this:

Student                                                                               

• Student ID    (number)
      • Citizenship
      • Term 2

Semester

• Student ID
      • Term
      • Program
      • Attendance     ----  (full time or part time)

Count

• Program
      • Term
      • Several count fields (ie LMFT – the count field for Local Male Full Time students)

The relationships graph looks like this:

Student ---------------- = ------------------ Semester
                      Student ID          Student ID
                      Term 1                  Term
                    ---------------- = ------------------  Semester 2
                      Term 2                  Term
                   ---------------- = ------------------ Semester 3
                      Term 3                  Term

Count ---------------- = ------------------Semester 4 ---------------- = ------------------ Student 2

Program         Program                                    Student ID          Student ID
                      Term               Term