8 Replies Latest reply on May 17, 2011 3:58 PM by wbanks

Conditional Navigation

wbanks

Title

Conditional Navigation

I'm just starting out in the software, so please excuse the question.  The scripting isn't currently making a lot of sense to me. 

I have two tables.

Table A is a general form used to input data.  Table B contains recurring employee information.  These tables are linked by an employee number field.

I would like to create a button in Table A that will find the unique record (as determined by employee number) in a layout for Table B.

Any suggestions would be appreciated

Thanks

• 1. Re: Conditional Navigation
          ninja

Howdy,

You are looking for the "GoToRelatedRecord" script step.  The details of this step allow you to choose a layout through which to view this record.

As long as you are just going there, go for it.
          If you are then going to continue the script and modify the record, perform a "Get(FoundCount)" in your script and make sure that (1) there is actually a record there and (2) that there is only one record there...else do what you would see as proper if the foundcount is zero or two.

• 2. Re: Conditional Navigation
            aammondd

The short answer is yes this is very possible

The long answer is I dont have enough information about your layouts to direct you.

There is a script step to go to related record and you can specify the layout. You can attach the script to a button (you may even be able to do this without  the script as its a single function its been a while)

(this button/script is often placed in a portal) However there are other ways to achive what you want based on how you have set things up but the concept is the same you want to go to a related record on a different layout its all a matter of determining which is the related record (Portals make  this easy)

Im sure Phil will be along with the answer in more detail.

*if he hasnt already by the  time I post this

PS or get Ninja'd by Ninja