5 Replies Latest reply on May 22, 2012 2:43 PM by philmodjunk

Conditional Numerical Sequence

C.Kobel

Title

Conditional Numerical Sequence

I'm creating a layout for driving routes. We have numerous routes (ie Lakewood, Long Beach, Cerritos, etc...) in our Routes field and need to assign each record a different sequenced number according to which route it's in. I'm hoping we can also set it to update any following numbers if we have to add a new record at a later date. I've been working with FM 11 for a few months, but this one is beyond me so far.

Example:

Name     Route     Route Order

Smith     Lakewood   1

Black      Lakewood   2

Osbourn  Cerritos      1

Frank     Cerritos      2

Blake     Lakewood   3

Thanks for any advice!

• 1. Re: Conditional Numerical Sequence
          philmodjunk

I'm not sure what your example is supposed to show. Why is there data from two routes (lakewood and Cerritos) in the same list? Why does "Blake Lakewood" appear twice?

I'd have one table for Routes and a related table for stops on those routes. An "order" number field in the stops table could serve as the sort key to get the stops in the order needed for that route--either in a list view layout or in a portal. But instead of that "order" field, I'd put @@ on the layout or in the portal row as layout text to get a gap free numerical sequence starting with 1 for a given route. That allows you to use values such as 10.5 to get stops into the correct order and still get a perfect sequence when veiwing or printing the data.

• 2. Re: Conditional Numerical Sequence
            C.Kobel

I'm trying to show the way we'd like the layout to look. Unfortunately we need to be able to view our entire client list with their route name and order within that route all at the same time, so having separate layouts for each Route won't work for us.

"Blake" is only once. "Black" is also once. I chose bad name examples, I guess.