7 Replies Latest reply on Nov 6, 2009 8:14 AM by senriz_1

Conditional Permission Sets

senriz_1

Title

Conditional Permission Sets

I'm a novice using FMP9Adv.  I have a db that consist of several schools and at each school is a various number of students.  These students are assigned to a particular school and personal information is stored on each student.  I need to create the ability to assign a user to selected students.  This user should only be able to view, edit, create records/forms, print, etc. the assigned students, and not any other student or the student's information.  I'm also thinking I need it to be where I can unassign a student from a User Account and re-assign to another User Account for whatever reason.  Is there a way I can set this up?

• 1. Re: Conditional Permission Sets
          ninja

Howdy,

Yes you can.  check out "editing record access privileges" and look at using account names to limit access in the help index.  You seem to be looking to do the same thing, but instead of tagging each record with Get(AccountName) you would be looking to have a third party assign an accountname who would handle the record.

1. create a value list of Mentors and attach it to a new "Mentor" field on each record in the "Student" table.

2. limit the access privileges of the mentors to only view student records when:

Student::Mentor = Get(AccountName)

Does this sound like what you're after?

• 2. Re: Conditional Permission Sets
            senriz_1
               Yes. Thank you!! I'll let you know how it goes.
            • 3. Re: Conditional Permission Sets
              senriz_1
                 That was so easy.  Thank you!!
              • 4. Re: Conditional Permission Sets
                senriz_1