14 Replies Latest reply on Aug 5, 2009 6:01 PM by Colinnzz

Conditional Value Result

Colinnzz

Title

Conditional Value Result

Hello,

I am new to Filemaker, having been a spreadsheet man up to this point and after 2 days of frustration, l am hoping someone can help with this (simple?) problem:

I have a table called Stock List containing fields Supplier, Description and Retail ex Tax. Using the advise from the knowledge base (Creating Conditional Value Lists) l have managed to get the Description pop ups to be based on Supplier selection pop up. However, l have been unsuccessful in getting the 'Retail ex price' displaying the value associated with a particular product description once the Supplier and Description have been selected.

My efforts have left me feeling like a monkey infront of a typewriter!

Cheers

• 1. Re: Conditional Value Result
          philmodjunk

What are you trying to do with your database? It sounds like you are trying to set up an invoicing system. If so, many other forum participants have worked on that idea. If you click the Advanced search link above and enter "invoice" as your search criteria, you'll find a number of threads that discuss this type of project.

In general, you'll need several tables with relational links between them to manage the data in each.

At a minimum, you'll need an invoice table where one record = 1 invoice, a lineItems table where one record = 1 item listed on an invoice and a price list table that lists each item available, its price and any number of additional fields depending on what you need to set up.

• 2. Re: Conditional Value Result
            Colinnzz

Thanks for that.

I have searched through the entire database, created numerous files based on examples and although l am sure that somewhere there is an appropriate example, l cannot find it.

Yes, this is for a telephone order invoice and resulting in product price auto entering as the result of the chosen item (Description).