3 Replies Latest reply on May 12, 2015 6:33 AM by philmodjunk

Confusion about portals

ElizabethRay

Title

Confusion about portals

Hello! I'm just starting out with this program, but I'm really excited about its applications and I'm eager to learn how to use it proficiently. Unfortunately, it hasn't been easy to find useful tutorials.

I've been scouring this forum and trying every search term I can think of, and I haven't found an adequate result for what I'm trying to do. Basically, I would like to create a window within a record that displays information from another record in the same table. Is possible to use a portal this way? Or can they only be linked up between two different tables?

I also have an instance where I would like to use a portal to connect two tables, but these tables don't share any common fields, so I'm not sure how to create a relationship between them.

A more in-depth description is this: I'm using this program to build a garden database with information about plants, pests, companion planting, general planting conditions, health and medicinal uses, and pictures. I have two tables: one for the plants themselves (labeled "plant people"), and one called "plant health" (regarding pest management, diseases, deficiencies, and beneficial bugs). The layout for the plant people records is supposed to have something like an embedded search window, where a user can enter the name of one of the companion plants listed and it will display an abbreviated version of that plant's own record page, which is located in the same table. There would be a second window for searching for pests, and that window would have to connect to the plant health table. But the problem here is that the plant people table and the plant health table don't share any common fields to link up. Is a portal the right device for these purposes? Will it require scripting?

(Attached is an image of a typical plant record, with the intended search window in the lower right.)