5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 19, 2013 9:34 AM by philmodjunk

Connecting 2 databases

PeterLorenzo

Title

Connecting 2 databases

A complete newbie here.  Any help is appreciated.

I have a contacts database and an invoice/contact database.  I have the clients info listed in both places because I do not know how to connect the two.  So I am entering the info twice.  I start them off in contacts, and then when they become clients, I have to reenter all the info into the invoice/contact database to actually invoice the client.

I want to be able to enter the info in the contacts and then when I need to invoice them, I can pull the info from that contact list.

Can anyone help?? Thanks.

• 1. Re: Connecting 2 databases
          philmodjunk

Does this mean that you have 2 database files--one for contacts and one for invoices? Perhaps from the FileMaker Starter Solutions?

It's possible to link the tables in invoices to one or more tables in your contact manager by creating a new Table Occurrence in Manage | Database | Relationships (click the button in the far bottom left corner) and then selecting "Add FileMaker Data Source" to select a table from the other file.

But then you have to modify the design of your invoicing solution to refer to this table instead of any contacts table that currently exists in your invoicing file. Such changes require a good working knowledge of FileMaker and your database files.

• 2. Re: Connecting 2 databases
            PeterLorenzo

Yes, I have 2 database files, one for contacts and one for invoices.  Both from Starter Solutions.

I kind of figured I would have to know alot more about Filemaker than I do.  So basically you are telling me I need to find a FM consultant?

Thank you for replying.

• 3. Re: Connecting 2 databases
              philmodjunk