1 Reply Latest reply on Jun 4, 2012 1:14 PM by davidanders

Connection Help

ReginaHalpin

Title

Connection Help

I am new to Filemaker and not a computer programmer.  We have a company in which 7 employees all work from different locations (home offices).  We have Filemaker and have been sharing through Dropbox and that is not working.  can you tell me what I need to do the share the file over a network other than Filemaker Pro Server that we are not ready to invest that much money yet?

• 1. Re: Connection Help
          davidanders

Filemaker Pro and FMP Advanced will allow 9 people with Filemaker to share a database at the same time (10 counting the host).

The first copy of FMP to open the database will be hosting it.
          If all are on the same network, open Filemaker, choose "Open Remote" under the File Menu.
          If the hosting copy of Filemaker has "Sharing" under the File Menu turned on for that database, will be visible to the other computers on the network.
          Each copy of Filemaker will have to have a unique serial number.

http://help.filemaker.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/6098/~/troubleshooting-filemaker-network-sharing-in-filemaker-pro
          Troubleshooting FileMaker Network Sharing in FileMaker Pro
          Why am I unable to host my FileMaker database?      Updated: Sep 22, 2011

http://www.filemaker.com/help/html/sharing_data.15.3.html
          Home
          > Sharing data > Sharing databases on a network > Sharing and hosting files > Opening files as the host

Opening files as the host
          To host a file so other users can access it as clients:
            •
          the file must be enabled for network sharing, as described in the next section
            •
          you must be the first to open it
          If the file has associated lookups, related files, or uses external scripts, you must open and share those files as well.