8 Replies Latest reply on Sep 5, 2011 2:51 AM by aikiko

Constrained finds using different layouts

aikiko

Title

Constrained finds using different layouts

Dear All,

I am a newbie and have a tricky 3 "stage" find question

I have 2 layouts: layout A which is a census and layout B which is a detailed household survey. These 2 layouts represent different tables which are linked by ID numbers of individuals.

I search for the number of "women"in layout A.

Out of these "women" in layout A, I want to find how many children does this woman live with. This listing of children is in layout B. nb: the mother is linked to the child via a "household number".

Then I want to find the list of all these "children".

I can do a constrained find, but only in the same layout, but not when I change layouts.

Any assistance will be of tremendous help for my health survey.

Thank you very much in advance.

Aikiko

FMP 10Adv

Mac OSX

• 1. Re: Constrained finds using different layouts
          Kays

heyy aikiko,

in the table "children", it must be like a field that refers to table "mother", like a joint between ( children::id_mother ===== mother::id)

K|Z

• 2. Re: Constrained finds using different layouts
            aikiko

Dear KIZ,

Thank you, but the two tables are already joined by the same "ID number". Perhaps I should elaborate a bit further.

I would like to do a Find in one layout/table, then use the ID numbers from this search to Find related records in another layout/table.

I want to find all women in layout A that will give me a list of all records with women in it including their ID numbers. I then want to use these ID numbers to find matching children in layout B, however the children are only linked to these women through a household number, i.e. the children do not have an ID number. All women in layout A can be found in layout B.

Layout A = list of selected men and women who each with a unique ID number