1 2 Previous Next 27 Replies Latest reply on Apr 27, 2012 9:15 AM by philmodjunk

Container for multiple files

JoaoB

Title

Container for multiple files

I every one,

My name is Joao and i'm a new in Filemaker Pro.

I m starting a inventory database for different kinds of artistic objects.

I need some help to create a folder in the layout form where i can drop, copy or list access to unlimited different kinds of files (jpeg; raw; tiff; pdf; doc; mov; mpeg; avi; etc.. ) - similar how Bento works.

These files are important to be attached to each inventory file.

I tried a container field but it only supports one file, is any chance a container with multiple files?

thanks

• 1. Re: Container for multiple files
          philmodjunk

Use the container field.

You set up a related table of records--one container field to each record for storing your files. Using a portal you can create as many related records to store documents (or references to documents) as you need. That's why I also suggested you research "portals" as a portal is the simplest way to manage these multiple related records in order to store and access your files.

• 2. Re: Container for multiple files
            JoaoB

Thanks

I tried that before but the Portal din't Stay in the layout.

As you seggested I'm going to set up a table of records --one container field to each record for storing your files. But first i need to know how to make this.

I will try to create that table os records.. and then maybe i can create the portal in the layout

• 3. Re: Container for multiple files
              philmodjunk

You need a related table before you can add a portal to your layout.

Open Manage | Database | tables and add a new table named Files.

Click on the fields tab and define at least these two fields in your database:

_fk_InventoryID (number field)
              FileContainer (container field)