2 Replies Latest reply on Jul 7, 2009 6:44 AM by wdockery

Copy a single field's contents into a field in another table

wdockery

Title

Copy a single field's contents into a field in another table

Hello, I am a newbie using FileMaker Pro 10, and I have two tables in a single file called "Contact Management".  Each table contains demographic information about individuals.  One table is called "Contact Management" and has public info such as address and phone number; for this I just use "Contact Management", one of the FileMaker templates; the only thing I've added is a serial number field called "ContactID". 

The other table has more private (medical) info and is called "Patient Info" and is only pertinent to a small subset of the records in "Contact Management"; it includes a serial number field called "PatientID". 

I would like to have the following workflow during data entry:  Create a new record in "Contact Management".  After entering address and phone, I would like to be able to switch (with a button) to "Patient Info" and have "ContactID" automatically entered into the "PatientID" field.  This way the records will be related through the ID field.

I can't figure out how to do this!  I would like the solution to be compatible with the web viewer.  I have been playing around with "Insert from last visited" script and "getfield", "Set field", and "Set variable"; but I just don't know enough to make it work.

Thanks if you have advice on this!

• 1. Re: Copy a single field's contents into a field in another table
          LaRetta_1

wdockery wrote:

Create a new record in "Contact Management".  After entering address and phone, I would like to be able to switch (with a button) to "Patient Info" and have "ContactID" automatically entered into the "PatientID" field.  This way the records will be related through the ID field.

The button would say "Add Patient Information" and then would run script similar to: