9 Replies Latest reply on Feb 18, 2010 12:58 PM by AndyCohen

Copy data between tables

BigRickNYC

Title

Copy data between tables

Hello All,

I am new to FileMaker so I'm still trying to feel my way around. I'm familiar with databases in general and have a long history with MS Access.

I am converting an Access database into FileMaker and have figured out the Import function as best I can. I have a Contacts table that I have imported into the Contact Management database template that comes with Filemaker. I am trying to separate my Notes field and move it to the Notes table. Currently, there are 60k records in the Contact Management table and 60k blank records in the notes table. The ID fields were not populated during the import and FM does not give me the option to import directly into Notes.

How can move my notes data from Contact Management table to the Notes table?

I am using FM Pro Advanced 10.0v3.

Thank you in advance, any help will be appreciated.

Regards,

Rick 

• 1. Re: Copy data between tables
          comment_1

BigRickNYC wrote:

I am trying to separate my Notes field and move it to the Notes table.

How many notes per contact - and how can they be separated?

• 2. Re: Copy data between tables
            BigRickNYC

Currently, only one note per record. Most records do not have any notes. After the process, I will be able to create multiple notes for each Contact record.

I was able to copy a single note and ID fields for one record. I am now editing the following script to repeat for the entire table. This script will only be used once.

Go to Record/Request/Page[ First ]

Loop

Set Variable [ $ID_Contact; Value:Contact Management::k_ID_Contact ]

Set Variable [ $Notes_Contact; Value:Contact Management::Notes ]

If [ IsEmpty ( $Notes_Contact ) ]  <---------is it possible to use something like If NotEmpty do these steps Else go to the next record/repeate the loop?

End If

Freeze Window Go to Layout [ “Notes_Utility” (Notes) ]