5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 9, 2014 2:11 PM by philmodjunk

copy data from another field and table with variable

DavidS

Title

copy data from another field and table with variable

Hello, i am new with filemaker, and i have maybe a simple problem?!

I want to copy a field from a related table to another field in a another table.

See picture!

In the picture(1) you can see the data i want to copy or extract, to copy it to a another table.

If i choose in a portal the material (see material in picture) such as "New imperial Red" then i want automatic the price in the field "Price" in the same portal. Butt it must be the price in the table with de field (example) "Kl3" or "Kl4" ...it changes when there is a another customer. So if customer 4 want to purchase something such as "New imperial red" then the database must lookup the right price in the table with prices (you can see in the picture)

Butt i dont now how to do that, because i cant choose the field that is related to the customer...only the material or a exact field i can choose...so i want to do it with a variable... butt how...

Somebody is understand what i meaning a help is very welcome and sorry for my english...

1.jpg

• 1. Re: copy data from another field and table with variable
          philmodjunk

You do not have a portal in your screen shot. Your screen shot shows a table view of your data.

You should not be "choosing a different field". Instead use a relationship to match to the correct record.

I would describe this in more detail, but I am not sure what exactly you are trying to do.

Maybe you want to do this:

You are recording purchases or sales. Each row is a different record for a different item sold or purchased. When you select an item for this row, the item's price should be looked up for that item. And this can be a different price for different customers or different groups of customers...

Is that what you are trying to do?